VISION:To be a leading university in the provision of quality knowledge and skills in Agriculture and allied sciences


It is located in Morogoro Municipality occupying 3,350 acres of land for training, research and production in Morogoro municipality; 840 acres of forest land in Arusha; 320 acres of virgin forest for research in Usambara Mountains in Tanga and 500 acres of miombo woodlands in Kitulanghalo in Morogoro region.

The University was established out of the former Faculty of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Science of the University of Dar es Salaam on 1 July 1984. The Vision of the university is "To become a centre of excellence in agriculture and allied sciences". The vision is guided through the mission, which is "To Promote development through training, research and delivery of services". The University is currently made up of four campuses: Main Campus and Solomon Mahlangu Campus in Morogoro, Olmotonyi Campus in Arusha and Mazumbai Campus in Lushoto. SUA has four faculties namely the Faculty of Agriculture, Faculty of Forestry and Nature Conservation, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and the Faculty of Science. Other academic units include the Directorate of Research and Postgraduate Studies, Institute of Continuing Education, Development Studies Institute, Computer Centre, Pest Management Centre, SUA Centre for Sustainable Rural Development and the Sokoine National Agriculture Library. SUA is currently offering 28 undergraduate, 37 postgraduate and two non-degree programmes in agriculture, forestry, veterinary medicine, environmental sciences, education, ICT and allied disciplines. Currently, SUA has a total number of 484 (19% female) academic members of staff 58% of whom are PhD holders.

Since 2004, SUA has one constituent college,  Moshi University College of Cooperatives and Business Studies (MUCCoBS).. MUCCoBS has two Faculties: the Faculty of Business and Information Science (FBIS) and the Faculty of Co-operative and Community Development (FCCD), the Institute of Continuing Cooperative Development and Education (ICCDE) and the Cooperative Entrepreneurship and Innovation Centre. MUCCoBS has two campuses: the Main Campus at Moshi and Kizumbi Campus in Shinyanga.

Currently MUCCoBS offers various Programmes including seven Degree programmes, two Postgraduate Programmes and seven Diploma and Certificate Programmes. Currently the college student population stands at 3500 and is projected to expand up to 5000 students by the year 2015. MUCCoBS has a total number of 146 academic staff including 8 PhD holders, 77 Masters holders and 61 First degree holders.




Sokoine University of Agriculture Units Website Ranking Results | September 2017

University wide  Website Committee (UWC) of Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA) in its 13th meeting held on 06th September 2017 approved the results of the ranking of University website for the College/School/Faculty/Department/Institute/Directorate and Centres for the third quarter (June - September 2017).

Congratulations to the following units for being the Winner (Top three).

1. Sokoine National Agricultural Library (SNAL)

2. College of Agriculture (CoA)

3. College of Forestry, Wildlife, and Tourism (CFWT)



MISSION:Promote development in Agriculture,natural resources and allied sectors through training,research and delivery of services
Copyright © 2017 Sokoine University of Agriculture. All Rights Reserved.