College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

In Tanzania the Veterinary Education started when the division of Veterinary Science was established under the Faculty of Agriculture and Forest of University of Dar es Salaam 1976.

After establishment of Sokoine University of Agriculture, the Division of Veterinary Science was elevated to form the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine. Initially the Faculty was offering the Bachelor of Veterinary Science (BVSc) which was later changed to Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine (BVM).

Currently, in addition to BVM the College also offers the Bachelor of Biotechnology and Laboratory Science (BLS) and postgraduate degrees at Masters and PhD Levels.


One of the Research Centres under the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

The Vision of the College is to become an international recognized centre of excellence and valued member of the Veterinary Education and allied sciences in view to promote socioeconomic development through practical skills, entrepreneurship, research and integration of basic and applied knowledge in solving societal challenges.

Like & Share this page